End of the Year: Best Books of 2011

2011 has come and gone.

What new good tween reads have you devoured in the past 365 days? If you can’t remember every title you read, wanted to read or tried to read, that’s okay- that’s what good book list sites are for!

TeenReads.com has compiled a list of new books released in 2011 and has asked you the reader for your top five favorite books of 2011! The titles range in age from tweens to older teens, so not all of them may be a tween title. Voting ends on January 31,2012.

My top five books are the following:

As you can see, I am partial to fantasy novels, set in worlds both dark and strange. I am a fan of any author than can let his or her imagination run lose, causing havoc and chaos by creating a new world that runs by itself when the author looks away.

Not that I don’t like other books that are terrifyingly realistic- it’s just that books filled with new fantastical worlds grip onto my own imagination and force new odd and wonderful images into my head, ones that perhaps I would never have though of otherwise. That’s what makes a good, no, great read!

What are you top favorite 5 reads from 2011?  Tween, teen or something in between?

4 thoughts on “End of the Year: Best Books of 2011

  1. 1. Chime by Franny Billingsley (gorgeously written fantasy)
    2. Wonderstruck by Brain Selznick (mystery told in part by beautiful artwork)
    3. Under the Mesquite by Guadalupe Garcia McCall (coming-of-age novel in verse)
    4. Anya’s Ghost by Vera Brosgol (graphic novel ghost story)
    5. Winter Town by Stephen Emond (quirky romance)

    • Great selections, Emily! I’ve heard great things about Anya’s Ghost by Vera Brosgol. I love recommending graphic novels and am always looking for some great ones. I have not read Chime by Franny Billingsley. It looks like a very interesting YA book!

  2. But I’m still dying to read these 2011 publications:

    A Monster Calls by Patrick ness
    Beauty Queens by Libba Bray
    Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater

    and they might eclipse some of my top 5. 🙂

    • Libba Bray is one of my favorite writers. Have you read the Gemma Doyle trilogy? I have not read Beauty Queens by her yet either. My 2011 to read list is very long and buried beneath my 2010 reads list. 😀

Leave a Reply

