Keeping Up to Date: Tween Literature, Blogs and More

WHAT’S NEW?

How do I keep on top of new tween literature? Well, I have a few secrets. Guess there not really secrets if I am telling you, right? First, I work in a public library with every day access to new books. When I see a new book for ages 9-12 being ordered, I place a hold on titles that interest me. I also rely heavily on my coworkers in Childrens, Young Adult and Adult, who spot great reads and let me know about them through sites like GoodReads and LibraryThing.

I also try to pay attention to other tween blogs. The West Milford Township Library has a tween blog at http://tweenreads-bramley.blogspot.com/ which is currently highlighting “Team Peeta or Team Gale?” of The Hunger Games. Also, Abby the Librarian at http://www.abbythelibrarian.com/ (Tween tags are at: http://www.abbythelibrarian.com/search/label/tweens) has some great picks. The latest tween book reviewed by Abby was Happenstance Found (The Books of Umber #1) by P.W. Catanese.

I also look at movie trailers and pay attention to films coming out soon. Many popular movies are based on Children and YA books, and when films are coming out, the books are then in high demand. Some recent examples include Hugo, based off of the book The Invention of Hugo Cabret by Brian Selznick and “The Adventures of Tintin: The Secret of the Unicorn” by cartoonist Herge.

If I feel like I’m out of the loop in a certain genre, I also try to catch up using reading databases provied by my library, such as NoveList. I often find wonderful readalikes to popular series that I may have never heard of otherwise.

Share how you find out about new tween reads!  Any great blogs or feeds? Thanks ahead of time for sharing!

Leave a Reply

