Tween Books set in Outer Space

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

There are plenty of YA novels set in a science fictionalized paradise, full of battling aliens, space exploration and other worldly encounters. Yet when digging through reader’s advisory resources, reading lists and blog sites, I found that there are far less resources about outer space books targeted at tweens specifically. When I was a tween myself, I remember reading all the Star Trek the Next Generation books from our adult science fiction section- an avid trekkie, I knew the characters well enough and did not have much trouble understanding the adventures of Picard and the crew’s Enterprise ventures. These television-inspired science fiction books are still being read and devoured by readers of all ages.

Yet I challenged myself, what tween books are out there written with the outer space setting? I had to use a variety of subject headings, space colonization, outer space exploration, universal travels, and using a variety of keywords, I found a bunch of neat titles. Here are a few I’ve found.  (Suggested grade  levels are indicated.)

Young Adult (YA)
Airborn by Kenneth Oppel, 6-8
Princess of Neptune by Quentin Dodd, 5-8
Starcross: A Stirring Adventure of Spies, Time Travel and Curious Hats by Philip Reeve, 5-8
Marco’s Millions by William Sleator, 5-9
Putting Up Roots, A Jupiter Novel (book 3) by Charles Sheffeld, 5-8
The Comet’s Curse (Galahad Book 1 of 5) by Dom Testa, 7-10

Juvenile (J)

Bongo Fishing by Thacher Hurd, 4-7
Cosmic by Frank Cottrel Boyce, 3-6
Jacob Wonderbar and the Cosmic Space Kapow by Nathan Bransford, 4-7
Constellation of Sylvie by Roderick Townley, 4-8
Space Race by Sylvia Waugh, 4-7
Alien Secrets by Annette Curtis Klause, 5-8
Wonderful Flight to the Mushroom Planet by Eleanor Cameron, grades 3-7
Star Wars: the Clone wars (series) by Tracey West, 4-7
Mike Stellar: Nerves of Steel by K.A. Holt, 4-7
Shanghaied to the Moon by Michael Daley, 5-8

Graphic Novel format
YA
Laika by Nick Abadzis, 5-8
Tom Corbett: Space Cadet by Bill Spangler, 5-8
Laddertop, Vol. 1 by Orson Scott Card and Emily Janice Card, 5-8

J
Swans in Space, Vol. 1 by Lun Lun Yamamoto, 4-6
Zita the Spacegirl by Ben Hatka, 2-5

I am in the process of selecting my favorites, which I hope to write some reviews about and let you know why I chose them. Maybe in the month of May I’ll blast off a bunch of outer space tween book reviews.  Would you like that? Or do you prefer more listings like the ones above? I’m open to all suggestions. Also, please do share any you’ve read or have been recommended to read in the comments below. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

